S. Boulder - $23-$25 Hr F.T. Nanny/House Manager for 2 Active, Happy Kids! (Wait List)

Nanny Job Details

Job ID: 5482
Location: Boulder, CO


Meet The Family


Please describe your family:
We are a family of four (five if you include our furry friend, Addie, a loving black lab). We have lived in Boulder for almost 10 years, but are just returning from a year-long work assignment in California. Mom and dad run a business together and both work full time. But we also like to play (mountain bike, hike, ski, etc.) and make leading a healthy lifestyle a priority. We have two young children, ages 2.5 and 4.5, who keep us on our toes!

Please describe why you are looking for a nanny:
Mom and dad work full time and we have found that having a nanny makes for an overall happier family. Our 4.5 year old son has historically attended all-day daycare or preschool. However, our 2.5 year old daughter started with a nanny-share as a baby and has had a nanny during our year in California due to long pre-school waiting lists. Over the summer, our son stayed home with his sister and our nanny. He clearly thrived, likely due to the individual attention that is missing in a school environment. We would like to replicate this arrangement in Boulder. In our ideal scenario, the kids will attend pre-school for 2-3 hours in the morning, be picked up by the nanny for lunch and afternoon nap and then head out for an adventure. We are interested in a nanny looking for long term!

Describe the child(ren) you need a nanny for:
Our son is 4.5 and our daughter is 2.5. Our son has always been extremely verbal. He’s a rule follower in a school setting, but knows just how to push mom and dad’s buttons. He can negotiate like a top-notch lawyer. He’s into baseball and loves to ride his bike. He has also just begun to swim. Our daughter is the family comedian. She loves to get dirty and rarely allows a comb touch her hair. She’s more deliberate with her words, but communicates anything she needs. She seems to be turning into as much of an athlete as her brother and likes to make a break for it on her scooter.

Describe your home setting: We will be living in a home in South Boulder, very close to the South Boulder Rec Center. There is a reasonable sized yard, but the Rec Center playing fields are two houses away. The kids will be attending preschool about a 3 minute drive from the house.

We are interested in the following:
On Call Babysitter
Nanny, Permanent
Nanny, Temporary

Full-Time/Part-Time?
Full-time

How long do you need a Nanny?
1 Year

Live-in/Live-out?
Nanny, live-out

What tasks/errands do you expect your nanny to perform?
We are looking for someone to fill a household manager role. Ideally, the nanny would arrive at our house 1-2 hours before preschool pick up. During that time, we would look to the nanny to wash, fold and put away laundry, do some light housekeeping, grocery shop, and meal prep (nothing fancy, just chop veggies, throw some meat in a slow cooker, etc.). We often work before the kids wake up and after they go to bed, so we are looking for someone who can be pro-active in helping the house run smoothly so that we can spend time with the kids in the morning before school and in the evening before bed.

What activities do you want your nanny to do with your child?
Our kids love to play outside; ideally our nanny would, too. We would look for the nanny to take them to the park, on a hike, to the library, etc. Both kids like to draw/paint and seem to enjoy crafts (but have two hopelessly un-crafty parents). We may enroll one or both kids in an organized activity (swim lessons, dance, etc.) but we have not signed them up for anything yet.

What special certifications/requirements are you looking for?
CPR Certification required. Both of our kids have food allergies and our son does have an EpiPen. We will educate the nanny on how to use the EpiPen, so the ability to stay calm under stress is more important than a specific certification.

Does this position require a valid driver's license?
Yes

Does this position require a car?
Yes

When will this position be available?
11/1/2017

How many hours do you need a nanny for? Is this short-term, or longer?
40-45 hours/week. Ideal schedule is 10:00am to 6:00/6:30pm (start/end adjusted from time to time) occasional evening or weekend hours. Availability for an overnight would be great, not required.

How much are you willing to pay? Do you offer benefits?
We can offer $23-$25/hour, depending on experience. We offer paid national holidays and 2 weeks vacation (one week in conjunction with ours).

Do you have any pets or animals in your home?
We have a 7-year old black lab.

What else are you looking for in a nanny?
Above all else, we need a nanny that is trustworthy and will keep our kids safe. Our ideal nanny will set limits and stick to them and will be comfortable with the wide range of emotions of toddlers and preschoolers. We are looking for someone that can be calm and comforting for our kids when they are upset and redirect them when it’s time to move on. We’d also like someone that can be silly and get down on the floor to play.

Additional comments:
We look forward to meeting a great nanny!