4229
Boulder, CO 80302



I'm also willing to work as:
BABYSITTING   TEMPORARY   OTHER SERVICES
On Call Babysitter
Last Minute
  Daily
Overnight
Hotel
Summer
Travel
Weddings
Group
  Pet Sitter
House Sitter
 
 
I am interested in permanent:
Nanny, Temporary
 
Available for:
Full-time
Part-time
Temporary
On-call
 
Live-in/Live-out?
Nanny, live-out
 
Desired weekly schedule:
I am very flexible with my schedule dependent on the family's needs. I would prefer to have most weekends off but it is not a strong priority. I currently have one family that I provide date night service for every other week but they are very flexible with scheduling.
 
Salary range:
Negotiable
 
Are you currently in school?
No
 
Can you stay one year?
Yes
If not, why?
 
Do you prefer Summer only?
No
 
Willing to work with the following types of children?
Infants
Toddlers
Preschool
School age
 
Do you smoke?
No
 
Would you work with a family that does?
Yes
 
Do you have a driver's license?
Yes
 
Do you have your own transportation?
Yes
 
Willing to do additional tasks:
Yes
 
Are pets ok:
Yes
 
Any allergies:
No
If yes, please list:
 
 
What languages do you speak?
English
 
What is your primary language?
English
 
Can you swim:
Yes
 
Do you have children you would like to accompany you:
No
What are their ages:
 
Would you consider a Share a Nanny Situation:
Yes
 
The Nanny or Babysitter has the following experience:
I have been working as a professional full time nanny for over ten years. I have experience working privately with families as well as working in several share care arrangements. I usually begin working with a family when the child is an infant and stay with the same family until the child starts attending preschool. I also have experience caring for older children and being responsible for after school pick up and care until the parents return home from work. In addition to this I have provided overnight care for many parents who have traveled out of town. I spent most of the 2012 year volunteering for Cradle of Love Baby Home in Arusha, Tanzania, Africa. This orphanage provides housing, nutrition and care to high risk and abandoned infants and toddlers in the area. From 2014-2015 I worked in an intern position in an infant class, while obtaining my master's degree in Educational Psychology.
 
The Nanny or Babysitter has experience with the following age groups:
I specialize in caring for infants, toddlers and preschool aged children. I have been a valuable resource to many new parents and appreciate being able to share my vast amount of knowledge and tricks of the trade that I have developed over the many years that I have been working with this age group. I have worked in share care arrangements and have ample experience working with multiple infants at the same time, especially considering the service work I provided to the orphans in Africa. I also have ample experience working with older children and really appreciate developing friendships with this age group and supporting them in their understanding of the world. The youngest child I have worked with was 12 days old and the oldest child was 10 years.
 
The Nanny or Babysitter has the following interests and hobbies:
I enjoy reading and writing and engage in almost anything that stimulates my creativity. I take part in all types of artistic expression such as visual art, performance art, dance and singing. Just like I encourage the children I work with to do, I push myself just beyond my current comfort zone to learn new skills and gain a deeper understanding of the world we live in. I have recently taken up exercising at the gym and I am really enjoying connecting with the health of my body in this way. I enjoy cooking delicious and healthy vegetarian meals! I really enjoy snowboarding and camping and hiking.
 
Level of education:
2000 BA Contemplative Psychology, 2016 MA, Educational Psychology.
 
Do you have additional skills or certifications:
CAPPA Postpartum Doula training ECE credits for continuing education, Reducing the Risk of SIDS Certification I teach ASL to young children as additional communication method.
 
Describe your childcare style:
I generally am aligned with attachment parenting philosophies. My main concern when working with young children is to communicate that I am present and available to them at all times. This does not mean that I let them “rule the roost”. A very big piece of communicating that I am present is to set and reinforce appropriate boundaries for the child. I also lean strongly towards a wholesome and natural diet and I try to keep sugar and processed foods to a minimum when I work with children. I prefer to engage directly with children in play and activities rather than utilizing outside sources like television. I do not believe in “time outs” as a consequence but if a child is being physically aggressive or overtly emotional, to a point of not being able to hear me, I will offer them some time to “take some space” until they are able to calm down and engage again. I believe that children learn through play and exploration and I enjoy providing opportunities for the children to gain a deeper understanding of themselves and the world we live in.
 
What activities do you like to do with children:
I think it is important to get outdoors as often as possible. If it is cold out I am not opposed to bundling the child up and taking a stroll around the block at the very least but I prefer longer outings to the parks or going for walks or to the library for story hour or for after school activities. I also engage directly with the child depending on what interests the child has at the time. For example if a child is particularly interested in fire trucks one week I would make arts and crafts of this theme, imaginary play around it and possibly visit a firehouse to see a real fire truck. In this way I follow "emergent curriculum" which takes note of the child's interests and I provide learning opportunities from there. I am also a big fan of sensory play with many common ingredients found in the pantry such as oobleck, gack, homemade play dough, fizzy bubbles etc. Children love this stuff and it is nontoxic and cheap to make. I actually researched an in depth study during my MA program on haptic perception (touch) and sensory integration for young children. I also love to sing what we are doing as we do it with infants and toddlers. I am always making up songs about going up the stairs or swinging to the moon. It has a magical feel for the child when I sing to them and there are always lots of smiles and giggles. I am a big fan of reading and telling stories too!
 
Why are you interested in working as a Nanny or Babysitter?
I feel blessed that I have found a profession that brings joy to my life in caring for young children and being a support for their families. I communicate easily with children because I respect who they are and what they are experiencing as they begin to learn about the world that we live in. I have so much fun in the work that I do with children and I carry a lot of love for the innocence of their experience of becoming familiar with our world. I work with children because it is one of my gifts in this life to care for and relate to them. When I am working with a child I am able to see the world through his or her eyes, and it fills my heart to know that I can communicate to them that they are understood, based on how I interact with them. Because I have a deep respect for children I talk with them instead of at them and they can feel my compassion in my communication style. I feel honored that I am able to provide this level of love and support to a human being that is just beginning to understand the world around them. Although I have experience and training in early education I prefer to work with families on an individual basis, because of the depth my relationship with the children and families can have within this context.
 
What qualities are important in a Nanny or Babysitter?
Patience, compassion, clear communication, creativity, reliability, responsibility, caring, integrity, dedication & high energy. I seek to work in partnership with families in order to create a reliable and consistent experience of the world for the child. I value having open communication with parents and I consider myself to be an ally to the family dynamic. I look to work with families that have similar philosophies to mine on child rearing so that we can work together to best support the child. I see my responsibility as a nanny is to support the child in exploring and learning about their world while at the same time providing a container to keep them safe. There is a balance of providing opportunities for the child to grow and explore new levels of understanding while at the same time creating healthy boundaries for the child to work within. As a nanny I seek to assist the child in reaching the next level of development while feeling supported in the process.
 
Additional comments: