Boulder, CO 80304

I'm also willing to work as:
On Call Babysitter
Last Minute
Mildly Ill
  Pet Sitter
House Sitter
Party Assistant
I am interested in permanent:
Nanny, Temporary
Available for:
Nanny, live-out
Desired weekly schedule:
10-13 hrs.
Salary range:
Are you currently in school?
Can you stay one year?
If not, why?
Do you prefer Summer only?
Willing to work with the following types of children?
School age
Do you smoke?
Would you work with a family that does?
Do you have a driver's license?
Do you have your own transportation?
Willing to do additional tasks:
Are pets ok:
Any allergies:
If yes, please list:
What languages do you speak?
What is your primary language?
Can you swim:
Do you have children you would like to accompany you:
What are their ages:
Would you consider a Share a Nanny Situation:
The Nanny or Babysitter has the following experience:
I am a professional and highly responsible woman in her early 40s who has been caring for children since I was old enough to hold a bottle. The eldest of three children, I helped my mother take care of my siblings when they were born. I started babysitting outside of the household for neighbors when I was 10 years old, and took care of children all through late elementary, middle school, high school, and throughout college. My summers were spent being a camp counselor from 16 on, and I never looked back. After graduating with a BS from CU in Environmental Science, I helped support myself with full-time nannying, instead of babysitting. I had a lot more responsibility as a nanny ie. driving, cleaning, shopping, laundry, tutoring, organizing, cooking, etc., and ended up deciding to be a live-in nanny, as well as doing house assistant/house managerial work. I have worked with all age groups 0-16 through out the years, and finally got into the CU Masters Program in Early Childhood Education. Yet, I quickly found that I was geared more towards alternative education. I got into the MECR - Montessori Education Center of the Rockies, and worked afterwards, as an assistant teacher for children ages 6-9. The creative aspect of this type of learning was incredible and wonderful, and it opened my eyes to the joys of drawing outside the lines, so to speak. I later decided to try my hand at art, and have since become a decorative artist with a strong pull towards childrens rooms, murals, kids decor, etc. Over the years Ive worked with a plethora of over 50 families, have strong working relationships with clients who are parents, and love children beyond belief.
The Nanny or Babysitter has experience with the following age groups:
Ages 0-16 years. I have mostly worked newborns, infants, multiples, and toddlers, as well as elementary age, yet really do enjoy older children, as well.
The Nanny or Babysitter has the following interests and hobbies:
My interests inside include baking, cooking, scrapbooking, painting, art, yoga, and fix-it projects. Outdoors, I am an avid photographer and gardener, and take part in sports such as rock climbing, skiing, hiking, and biking. I have a big desire to constantly be creating something new, desiring mostly creative things, and love problem-solving. So often, my hobbies and interests tend to be outlets for this.
Level of education:
Bachelors of Science in Environmental Science 1994 Elementary Montessori Certification Ages 6-9 2002 Master Gardener 2005
Do you have additional skills or certifications:
Volunteer Skills: I volunteer with the Boulder Humane Society, Boulder Homeless Shelter, as well as with Greenwood Wildlife Refuge in Lyons. Certifications: Trained in CPR, as well as Infant CPR, valid through 4/19/2013 (new certification pending).
Describe your childcare style:
I have Maria Montessori to thank for my childcare style. The Montessori Method is geared towards childrens needs and concentrates on finding and strengthening their method of learning, much more so than how we learn as adults. Children, at young ages, absorb their natural environment without even knowing it. They are sponges, and unconsciously take in everything around them. This is why when dealing with children at a young age, you meet them at their level. Kneel when speaking to them, be as careful as you can to keep your voice low, your touch has to be soft, you speak to them at their eye level, and not around them. I like to bring objects or projects to their level. So, many things are done on the floor, or on low tables. I either sit on my knees or find a small stool. I try and keep the noises around them natural, such as opening windows and doors for them to hear nature, or bringing them outside when the weather permits. Also, the key to helping them learn a language, or master certain skills, is to figure out if they are visual, tactile, audible, or cerebral learners. When this is tested, you can then figure out what the most efficient way for them to learn is. When children are older, things change a little. You can be a little more direct and stand up taller; have an outside voice around them, instead of an inside voice. Older children can handle the concept of cause and effect better, and can be given certain consequences for their actions. They can develop skills to be sympathetic to those around them, instead of being in the me phase. Learning to say thank-you, show their appreciation, their gratitude for things, and even saying sorry when warranted. Social skills and learning how to be team players when necessary, is important. And, I like to show the older ones how to do this. Their siblings learn from them, and often mimic the appropriate behavior.
What activities do you like to do with children:
With children, I like to design play forts, have them play out make-believe if their age warrants it, get them around things to do with art, science, words, pictures, and projects. I like to instill ideas like putting one project away before we begin another. To organize their things, so that they can perhaps bring out things they have not set eyes on in a while. Children become bored when their environment is too constant, so I enjoy taking trips with them outside, or to new places, age dependent. Craving new things to learn, I like to get them outside of their comfort zone, from time to time. Having them play with someone they just met, or checking something out on the web, if they dont know what something looks like. Kids love to learn; do new things they have never done before, so most of our activities together revolve around this idea.
Why are you interested in working as a Nanny or Babysitter?
As I get older, and have decided not to have children of my own, keeping all ages in my life is paramount. I am an auntie and have two beautiful little nieces, but this does not seem to be enough to keep me going. There is an educator inside of me that just wont stop, and children always seem to have fun while learning, and this gives me joy. Their excitement is contagious. Child-like energy goes a long way, and keeps me laughing and smiling. Pressures of adult life are challenging, and having the energy of a child around, keeps me childlike, myself. Something, we adults, sometimes lose in the midst of it all.
What qualities are important in a Nanny or Babysitter?
Important qualities in a nanny are many. Yet, patience has got to be number one, in my book. Kids are beautiful and also know how and when to push your buttons, after a certain age. Maintaining composure when there are tantrums or when their emotions might get the better of them, is our most important job. We have to be their lighthouse, their oak tree, their stability, and I think that showing them adult ways to handle things, and being an example rather than an authoritarian, is key. Empathy, tenderness, consideration, and putting their needs before ours is also very important.
Additional comments:
I will always treat your child or children, as if they were my own. And, as tenderly and professionally, as I know you would want them to be treated.