Lafayette, CO 80026

I'm also willing to work as:
On Call Babysitter
Last Minute
I am interested in permanent:
Nanny, Permanent
Nanny, Temporary
Available for:
Nanny, live-out
Desired weekly schedule:
I am looking for two days a week, ideally Tues/Thurs but it could be one of those days and a Friday and 6 hours/day would be perfect. For a family that I am working with steadily, I am quite open to date nights and overnights.
Salary range:
Are you currently in school?
Can you stay one year?
If not, why?
Do you prefer Summer only?
Willing to work with the following types of children?
School age
Do you smoke?
Would you work with a family that does?
Do you have a driver's license?
Do you have your own transportation?
Willing to do additional tasks:
Are pets ok:
Any allergies:
If yes, please list:
What languages do you speak?
What is your primary language?
Can you swim:
Do you have children you would like to accompany you:
What are their ages:
Would you consider a Share a Nanny Situation:
The Nanny or Babysitter has the following experience:
Over the past 20 years I have done the range from teacher/director of various programs in both infant/toddler care and preschool, to nanny work both regular and special needs. For the past 6 years I have done a combination of nanny care and therapeutic child care ( emotional and behavioral), that is often coupled with parent coaching. Because of the parent coaching piece, I find I can be especially useful to first time parents, or parents with babies or toddlers who have high needs. I have also, as a solo parent, raised a magnificent daughter, now nearly 19.
The Nanny or Babysitter has experience with the following age groups:
I have experience with working and caring for children ages newborn through school age, but I am especially well versed in infant/toddler development, and infant/toddler care.
The Nanny or Babysitter has the following interests and hobbies:
I am a singer/actress in my spare time and this actually serves me quite well in my play with little ones. I have skills in drawing and painting. I am an avid reader of both adult and children's books! I am fascinated by astrology and hope to take a course of study this Spring that will enable me to read charts. I take yoga and other movement classes, and am a fan of ballroom dancing.
Level of education:
I have a Masters in Education from Bank Street College in New York City from their specialized program of Infant/Toddler Development.
Do you have additional skills or certifications:
CPR. I also have years of study and experience with Pre and Perinatal psychology based on the work of William Emerson and Karlton Terry. I am also a certified parent coach with the Beyond Consequences, Logic and Control Institute (BCCI). I studied to be a postpartum doula, and never took that certification, however I have served in that capacity for families.
Describe your childcare style:
My child care style is very akin to the work of Magda Gerber and RIE. My principal approach to children, no matter what age, is respect: for their competence, their feelings, their unique style and tempo, their self expression and communications. I see myself as a scaffold on which children can build their own mastery. I try to do things with children rather than for them. I believe in the value of undivided attention and unconditional love. A good sense of humor also helps :=)
What activities do you like to do with children:
With infants, all caregiving "activities" are opportunities for interaction and thus learning, so I pay special attention to the act of feeding, nap rituals, diapering, and dressing. I love to go outside on walks and to playgrounds. I love books and adore reading them out loud (this is where the acting comes in handy!). Vocalizing, finger plays, singing together and dancing are big in my repertoire with all young children. For toddlers drawing, painting, building, playdough, or any other malleable material, and somewhere around 3, pretend and imaginative play becomes the main event, although the seeds of that can begin earlier.
Why are you interested in working as a Nanny or Babysitter?
First and foremost, I love children! Often the therapeutic consultations I do with parents and their children can be more short term work, both in hours and duration. I like to combine that schedule with steady part-time Nanny work, as I find great satisfaction in the particular kind of deep connection which occurs when working with one family steadily over time.
What qualities are important in a Nanny or Babysitter?
Presence. Careful attention. Clear communications. Reliability. Maturity. Empathy Sense of Humor.
Additional comments: