4995
Boulder, CO 80302



I'm also willing to work as:
BABYSITTING   TEMPORARY   OTHER SERVICES
On Call Babysitter
Elder Care (non-medical)
Last Minute
Mildly Ill
Corporate
  Daily
Overnight
Hotel
Travel
Weddings
Group
  Pet Sitter
House Sitter
Cooking
Gardening
Party Assistant
 
 
I am interested in permanent:
Nanny, Permanent
Nanny, Temporary
 
Available for:
Full-time
Part-time
Temporary
On-call
 
Live-in/Live-out?
Either live-in or live-out
 
Desired weekly schedule:
My schedule is negotiable, however, I prefer to start work at 8:30 am or later. I am also available evenings and weekends, overnights and for trips.
 
Salary range:
Negotiable
 
Are you currently in school?
No
 
Can you stay one year?
Yes
If not, why?
 
Do you prefer Summer only?
No
 
Willing to work with the following types of children?
Infants
Toddlers
Preschool
School age
 
Do you smoke?
No
 
Would you work with a family that does?
No
 
Do you have a driver's license?
Yes
 
Do you have your own transportation?
Yes
 
Willing to do additional tasks:
Yes
 
Are pets ok:
Yes
 
Any allergies:
Yes
If yes, please list:
mold
 
 
What languages do you speak?
English
 
What is your primary language?
English
 
Can you swim:
Yes
 
Do you have children you would like to accompany you:
No
What are their ages:
 
Would you consider a Share a Nanny Situation:
Yes
 
The Nanny or Babysitter has the following experience:
Babysitting, Nanny/House Manager, child and adolescent inpatient psychiatric nurse, in addition to (ICDDN) intellectual, cognitive, and developmental disability nursing. I also have experience working with children with mild to severe learning disabilities and interfacing with their teachers/paras/counselors/caregivers. I taught new babysitters, girls approximately age 12, first aid skills and how to safely babysit, through the YWCA during college.
 
The Nanny or Babysitter has experience with the following age groups:
All ages.
 
The Nanny or Babysitter has the following interests and hobbies:
Hiking, camping, gardening, cooking, reading, history, genealogy, movies, (esp. film noire,) sailing, traveling, art/drawing, dancing, Scrabble, playing cards, reading, floral arranging, feng shui, beadwork, swimming, candle and soap making. I am a Volunteer Naturalist with Boulder Valley Parks and Open Space, also a volunteer with the Medical Reserve Corps of Boulder County, and a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
 
Level of education:
Bachelor of Science in Nursing with a Psychology Minor. Additional Graduate classes and training in Jungian Psychotherapy and Family Systems Therapy. Graduate of Religious Science Seminary.
 
Do you have additional skills or certifications:
Active CO Registered Nurse License, CPR. Private psychotherapy practice for 7 years, focussed on Jungian and Family Systems Therapy.
 
Describe your childcare style:
Patience! And being fair, firm, flexible and friendly. Having a sense of humor, kids can be funny as all get out in so many different ways. Consistency, structure, limits and for some kids maintaining a predictable schedule, are extremely important. It's critical to be in control (of yourself), stay level headed in all situations, to think ahead and be prepared for most eventualities: elimination needs, hunger, thirst, bee stings, boredom, changes in temperature/weather, need for medications, power outage for game devices-egad!, etc. I like to have fun and be goofy sometimes after I have learned a child's sense of humor. But above all, I partner with parents to know and follow their guidelines/philosophy and communicate openly with them at all times re. the needs, desires and (c)abilities of their children.
 
What activities do you like to do with children:
I like to plan the days' activities based on parental requests and the child's (or children's) mood(s) or energy level(s) that day and around whatever is already scheduled. Some days there's more time for play, other days life errands like shopping for groceries, cooking special meals and performing household duties are at the forefront. I do this while engaging with children, teaching as appropriate for the situation, participating in the activity, not just going along to the store but in preparing the grocery list, and providing anticipatory guidance for activities, places and engagements. As Einstein said, "Resources are the enemy of the imagination." So, I like to make up stories and songs, do art projects, play games in the car, get outside as much as possible for walks, games, picnics, go to museums, local events, the library, go swimming, play dates, musical events, working farms, etc. I learn what a child enjoys and tailor activities to their likes, dislikes and age. If allowed to watch TV, movies or use a computer or pad, I like to supervise and process with them what they did and saw. I enjoy watching soccer and ball games and am a great cheerleader!
 
Why are you interested in working as a Nanny or Babysitter?
I have always loved being around and caring for children. I was the oldest female of 7, in the deep south, and was the de facto babysitter for my 5 younger sibs, and primary caregiver for my sister when she was born when I was 10. My parents were busy professionals (M.D. and politician). Then I sat for neighborhood kids starting at 12. I babysat for some of my professors through college and have parented step children. I have 11 nieces and nephews. I spent so many years as a nurse in child and adolescent inpatient psychiatry caring for kids I know the argument re. nature vs nurture is moot. It's both. I enjoy teaching children to practice the Golden Rule and learn to be polite members of their communities and citizens of the world. I like to assist each child/teen in becoming all that they can be and support their families in every way I can to accomplish that goal.
 
What qualities are important in a Nanny or Babysitter?
Everything from above and to partner with parents, know and follow their guidelines, keep their children safe from harm, and communicate openly with them at all times re. the needs of their children.
 
Additional comments: